top of page

Labios Rotos

Zoé is a Latin Grammy Award-winning Mexican alternative/psychedelic band. Zoé's history begins in Mexico in 1994, as Britpop was becoming popular in the United Kingdom. Mainly inspired by this movement with slight influences from Seattle's grunge, Zoé would go through a period of changing lineups and varying styles before stabilizing in 1997.

Faced with a lack of venues in which to showcase their music, Zoé relied upon self-organized concerts, the Internet, and a self-published demo. All of these efforts, plus a good deal of positive word of mouth, helped them gain popularity in Spanish-language radio stations in the United States. First album was Rocanlover some popular songs from this recording include "Asteroide" and "Miel."

Following the success of this album, some of Zoé's songs were included in the soundtracks of movies like “Amar Te Duele,” “Ladies Night,” and “The Dreamer.”

In November 2003, Zoé launched their second album, produced by Phil Vinall, who had previously worked with the likes of Placebo and Elastica. This new album was titled Rocanlover, and the main singles were "Peace and Love," "Love," and "Veneno." By this point, their musical style was clearly defined and easily recognizable, as was their style of mixing Spanish and English in their lyrics.

“Labios Rotos” is in the MTV Unplugged: Música de fondo (Spanish: MTV Unplugged: Background Music) is the second live album recorded by Zoé. It was released on March 22, 2011 and it debuted at number one of the Mexican albums chart. "Labios Rotos" is one of my favorite songs. I can listen to this particular song over and over. I don’t consider myself a romantic person, but, this song is just right to describe a lot of people feelings. It does not matter the distance, nor the time, nor the age. You are alive do not be afraid, go outside and find by yourself how strange love can be.

Labios Rotos

(Torn lips)

Give me your heart and let me into

That place, where flowers bloom

Where love is born

Give me your torn lips, I want to kiss them,

I want to heal them, I will care for them

With all of my love...

Love is strange aaah, love is so strange

That it appears when you least expect it.

Love is strange aaah, love is so strange

That distance doesn't matter, nor time, nor age!

Soak the desert of my soul with your gaze,

With your tender voice, with your hand in my hand

For eternity...

And give me your torn lips, I want to kiss them,

I want to heal them, I will care for them

With all of my love...

Love is strange aaah, love is so strange

That it appears when you least expect it.

Love is strange aaah, love is so strange

That distance doesn't matter, nor time, nor age!

Love, love, love, love

Love, love, love, love

Love, love, love, love, love

Aaah!!!

Works Cited

"Social Media: Facebook Zoé Oficial Músico/banda." Web. 20 Apr. 2015.

Zoé. "Labios Rotos." You Tube. You Tube, 25 Feb. 2011. Web. 20 Apr. 2015.


Follow Us
Recent Posts

© 2015 by Patricia Estrada

bottom of page